top of page

Black College Football HOF Class of 2023 finalists named

Updated: Nov 18, 2022

The Black College Football Hall of Fame BCFHOF announced the 25 finalists who will be inducted into the Class of 2023. Out of 200 nominees, 21 players and four coaches were chosen by an 11-member Selection Committee. The inductees for this year will be announced on December 8, 2022 and given recognition at the Second Annual HBCU Legacy Bowl in New Orleans on February 25, 2023. On Saturday, June 10, 2023 the 14th Annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place in Atlanta, Georgia. During this event, they will be honored.


• Joe “747” Adams (QB, Tennessee State University, 1977-1980)

Antoine Bethea (DB, Howard University, 2002-2005)

• Verlon Biggs (DE, Jackson State University, 1962-1965)

• Dwaine Board (DE, North Carolina A&T State University, 1975-1978)

• Waymond Bryant (LB, Tennessee State University, 1970-1973)

• Vince Buck (DB, Central State University, 1986-1989)

• Kevin Dent (S, Jackson State University, 1985-1988)

• Leslie Frazier (DB, Alcorn State University, 1978-1980)

• Mike Holmes (WR, Texas Southern University, 1970-1973)

• Richard Huntley (RB, Winston-Salem State University, 1992-1995)

• Henry Lawrence (OL, Florida A&M University, 1970-1973)

• Albert Lewis (DB, Grambling State University, 1979-1982)

• Jim Marsalis (DB, Tennessee State University, 1962-1965)

• Rashean Mathis (DB, Bethune-Cookman University, 1999-2002)

• Tyrone McGriff (OL, Florida A&M University, 1976-1979)

· Lemar Parrish (RB, Lincoln University MO, 1966-1969)

• Elijah Pitts (RB, Philander Smith College, 1958-1961)

• Tyrone Poole (DB, Fort Valley State University, 1991-1994)

• Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie (DB, Tennessee State University, 2004-2007)

• Jay Walker (QB, Howard University 1991-1994)

• Johnnie Walton (QB, Elizabeth City State University, 1965-1968)


• Rudy Hubbard (Head Football Coach, Florida A&M University 1974-1985)

• Fred “Pop” Long (Head Football Coach, Wiley College 1921- 1965)

• Doug Porter (Head Football Coach, Mississippi Valley State University 1961-1965, Howard University 1974-1985, Fort Valley State University 1987-1996)

• Pete Richardson (Head Football Coach, Winston Salem State University, Southern University 1988-2009)

41 views0 comments


bottom of page